Plug Power Leaders Honored by DOE and USFCC

June 27, 2002 by Jeff Shepard

Plug Power Inc. (Latham, NY) announced that Plug Power Vice President and Chief Scientist William Ernst and Plug Power Director of Stationary Product Engineering and Development George Earle III, recently received recognition by the US Department of Energy (DOE, Washington, DC) and the US Fuel Cell Council (USFCC, Washington, DC), respectively.

Ernst received a special recognition award from the DOE for outstanding technical contributions to the DOE Transportation Fuel Cell Program. Ernst is a long-standing member of the National Laboratory Fuel Cell Research Development advisory panel. From September 1997 to December 2000 he served as the Principal Investigator of a DOE/Plug Power project to develop an integrated 50kW automotive fuel cell system.

Earle was elected President of the USFCC by the board of directors at their annual spring meeting. Earle has been an active member of the council for more than three years; he served as Chair of the Policy Committee and as a member of the Executive Committee for the past two years.

"We are extremely proud of Bill and George's contributions to these national organizations and of their recent honors," said Plug Power President and CEO Roger Saillant. "Their achievements underscore the strength and vision of our management team, and contributions like these make it possible for the industry to expand the frontiers of fuel cell technology."