PCIM Chairman Receives Power Electronics Award

October 01, 2012 by Jeff Shepard

The prestigious IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award 2012 is going to the PCIM Advisory Board chairman Prof. Leo Lorenz, President of ECPE. This award was handed to Prof. Leo Lorenz "For Contribution to the Development of Power Semiconductor Devices and Integrated Power Modules". The award, introduced in 2005, is named in honor of Dr. William E. Newell, in memory of his many contributions and innovations to these technical areas. This award is handed out on an annual basis to one individual having shown outstanding achievement record, in power electronics.

Based on his scientific background along with his record on application oriented achievements it was pointed out, that due to his pioneering work in the field of power semiconductor devices Prof. Lorenz spearheaded the movement from conventional power electronic converter design to high frequency and high power density power conversion technologies. With his numerous invited speeches and key note presentations at international conferences, his university lectures for Master & PhD students and expert seminars multinational operations he initiated and supervised significant research directions and set important milestones in the whole field of power electronics. He shaped power electronics system integration to a great extent and pushed for the energy saving mindset.

Prof. Leo Lorenz is President of ECPE, a Senior Principal at Infineon Technologies Munich (retired), Professor for Power Electronics System Integration at TU Ilmenau, an IEEE Fellow and Member of German Academy of Science (Sect. Erfurt).