Sunlogics Announces Deal With GM to Provide Solar Photovoltaic Canopy and Electric Vehicle Charging Stations

October 14, 2010 by Jeff Shepard

Sunlogics Inc. announced that it was selected by General Motors to build Solar Photovoltaic Canopy and electric vehicle charging stations for the company’s U.S. facilities, development centers and Chevrolet dealerships. The renewable energy systems will be called Chevrolet Volt "Green Zone".

Sunlogics’ first GM installation is located at the Chevrolet Volt assembly plant in Hamtramck, Michigan and is a 20kW system containing ten charging stations. Additional Solar Photovoltaic Canopy charging stations will be built at GM’s electric vehicle battery plant and vehicle development centers in Warren and Milford, Michigan.

"We’ve worked collaboratively with GM on solar energy projects before and have their vote of confidence as a leader in developing clean energy electric vehicle recharging for businesses," said Jack DeLiddo, Vice President and Director of Sunlogics. "We’re pleased they’ve selected us to provide Green Zone Canopy systems to the Chevy dealer network and the American consumer. The Green Zone dealership program demonstrates to America how to bring free energy from the sun to power the car."

The Sunlogics team has created the solar powered "Green Zone" to support the Chevrolet Volt Go To Market Strategy. Rob Threlkeld, Manager of GM’s Energy and Environmental Services, stated, "Our solar initiatives, such as the Green Zone developed with Sunlogics, is a significant expansion of our renewable energy portfolio. The Chevrolet Volt Green Zone project now helps GM maximize the environmental benefits of our electric vehicles through the use of clean, renewable energy and demonstrates our commitment to solar energy as a part of our growing portfolio."

Michael Matvieshen, CEO of Sunlogics, said, "We are becoming a world leader in developing and delivering solar roof top, park and canopy solutions. Today, company completed projects and operations are located the United States, Canada, Germany, Ireland and Spain."