NiSource Streamlines Organizational Structure

September 11, 2002 by Jeff Shepard

NiSource Inc. (Merrillville, IN) announced actions to delayer its organizational structure. The streamlining will move executive management closer to customers and promote efficiency while lowering costs in response to a rapidly changing energy industry. Four executives are retiring or leaving the organization by early 2003. Patrick Mulchay, group president, Indiana Energy Group; Jeffrey Yundt, group president, Energy Distribution; Catherine Abbott, group president, Pipeline and Production; and Stephen Smith, president, Business Services.

"These executives are accomplished leaders," stated Gary Neale, NiSource chairman, president and CEO. "Their collective years of achievements have had a significant impact on our company and our industry, and on behalf of the NiSource board of directors and all NiSource employees, I offer our thanks and appreciation for their individual and collective efforts and contributions."